Saturday, November 15, 2014

Info about Ingredients on foods, toothpaste, soap, etc


NTRODUCTION
We hope that this information will be of great use to you and that you will read the ingredient on every product before you make your purchase. If in doubt, you may write to the company. They have been very helpful in providing the requested information.
CONSULTATION OF COMPANIES
Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.
  1. L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company:
No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used HALAL
  1. Burger King Corporation:
Shortening used in from swine = HARAM
Lard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAM
Lecithin is used in buns =HARAM
Because you are not sure.
Shakes = HALAL
  1. General Goods:
Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM
  1. Knox Gelatin Inc.:
Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAM
  1. American Lecithin Company:
Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL
  1. Nestle:
A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL
  1. General Mills Inc.:
Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM
(Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better to avoid)
  1. Quaker Oats:
Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.
SEVERAL TERMS
A. Derived from pork or other animal
    1. Bacon
    2. Ham
    3. Sausage
    4. Lard
    5. Fat
    6. Gelatin
    7. Shortening (animal).
B. Avoid - doubtful (may be derived from animal or vegetable):
    1. Lecithin
    2. Emulsifier
    3. Dough conditioners
    4. Mono and diglycerides
    5. Enzymes or rennet in cheese
C. You can use: HALAL
    1. Soya-lecithin
    2. Soybean lecithin
    3. Vegetable lecithin
    4. Vegetable shortening
    5. Vegetable mono and diglyceriders
    6. Vegetable enzymes or rennetless cheese.
    7. Fish.
D. Avoid may contain alcohol
    1. Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings
E. When you see these letters:
"U" or "K" they may mean that the produce does not contain anything from an animal.
MISCELLANEOUS FOOD ITEMS
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Kellog Co.
Frosted Pop Tarts
Type-B Gelatin
(Vegetable/Beef)
Investigate

Unfrosted Pop Tarts
No Gelatin
HALAL
Frank Foods
QT Frosting mix
Vegetable fat (Shortening)
HALAL
General Mills Inc.
Ready-to-Spread
Frosting
 Vegetable fat/or Lard
HARAM
Proctor & Gamble
Duncan Hines
Cake Mix &
Pringles
 Vegetable fat
HALAL
Great Atlantic & Pacific Co.
 A&P Creamer
 Coconut & Palm Oil
HALAL
Topco Assoc. Inc.
Food Club Non Dairy Creamer
 Vegetable fat
HALAL

Dietary Creamer
Vegetable Fat
HALAL
Penn Maid Food Inc.
Natural Yogurt
No Gelatin
HALAL

Swiss Yogurt
Gelatin from Calf skin
HARAM
Jolly Rancher
Candies
Palm & Coconut Oil
HALAL
M & M Co.
Starburst fruit Chews
Gelatin from Lard
HARAM
American Home Foods
Crunch 'N' Munch
Vegetable Fat
HALAL
DISINFECTANT
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Lehn & Fink Products
Lyson Brand
All products
Synthetic chemicals
HALAL
BREAD AND PASTRY
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Drake Bakeries (Div. Of Borden foods Inc.)
Honey bun
Lard
HARAM
Entenmanns
All Products
Vegetable Shortening
HALAL
Giants Goods
Bread
Vegetable Shortening
HALAL
Huber Baking Co. (Bakers Of sunshine Bread)
Roman Meal Bread
Soybean Salad oil
HALAL
Keebler
All products
Vegetable Shortening
Oleo and Lard
HARAM
Nabisco
All Products
Lard
HARAM
Pepperidge farm
Rolls, Bread, Butter or Cakes*
Vegetable shortening
HALAL
* NOTE:Layer cakes even though this cake is made with good shortening the GELATIN USED is made from PIGSKIN
HARAM
Pillsbury Co.
1896/69 Brand Butter, Milk Biscuit
Vegetable shortening
HALAL
Stroehmann Brothers Co
Hillbilly Bread
White Bread
Lard
HARAM
Sunshine Biscuit Co.
All products
Vegetable shortening
HALAL
ICE CREAM
Manufacturer
Product
Use
Baskin Robbins
Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice
NOTE: Ice cream and those flavors Containing might marshmallow
HALAL
HARAM
Pensupreme
Ice Cream
HARAM
Pensupreme schraff
Ice cream (available at safeway)
HALAL
Meadow Gold
Ice cream
HALAL
Meadow Gold Louis sherry
Ice cream (all natural)
HALAL
Abbotts
Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice
HALAL
Pantry Pride
Ice cream
HALAL
Breyers
Ice cream
HALAL
CHEWING GUM
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Dynamint Co.
Dynamints
Candelilla Wax
HALAL
Wrigley's Co.
Chewing gum
100% mineral or Vegetable base
HALAL
Warner Lambert Co.
Chewing Gum
Chicklets Dentyne Trident
Freshen Up
Vegetable base
HALAL
Beach Nut
Chewing Gum
Glcerl Monosterate Or Ester of Gum from any animal fat
HARAM
FROZEN PIZZA PIES
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Jan's
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL
Buitoni
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL
Little Chef
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL
Ellio's
Cheddar Cheese
Swine pepsin
HARAM
Quaker Celeste
Mozzarella Cheese
Swine pepsin
HARAM
PIZZA RESTAURANTS
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Pizza Hut
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL
NOTE: Making of pizza is not according to SHARIAH.
Example: They are using same pot or tray and knife that they use in pork.
CHEESE
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Purity Company
Muenster Cheese
Caraway Muenster Cheese
Monterey jack
Muenster Cheese(with hot pepper)
Farmers Cheese
Burie (Imported) Cheese
Camembert Cheese
Romano Cheese
Parmesan Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL
Clearfield
Natural Cheese Kosher Brand.
Calf Rennet
HARAM
Kraft
Philadelphia Cream Cheese
Whipped Cream Cheese
Neufchatel
Lactic acid
HALAL
McCadm Co.
New York State
Calf & swine Rennet
HARAM
Framageries Bal. Inc.
Cheese
Calf Rennet
HARAM
World Cheese Col.
Migdal American
Haolam
Vegetable
HALAL
Schanling Col.
Schnall American
(Individually wrapped)
Schnall Muenster sliced
Schnall Mozzarella
Vegetable
HALAL
Clay Butter Co.
Millers Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL
NOTE: Calf (plural = calves): a young cow or bull.
COSMETICS
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Avon
All Products
Petrochemicals
HALAL
Wella Corp.
Balsam products
Petrochemicals
HALAL
Johnson Product Inc.
Ultra Sheen
Lanolin
HALAL
Lustrasilk Corp.
Scalp Cream
Lanolin
HALAL
Westwood Pharmaceutical
Keri Lotion
Synthetic chemical
HALAL
Chesbrough Ponds Inc.
Vaseline Intensive Lotion
Lard
HARAM
SOAP
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Proctor & Gamble Co.
Kirk's Coso Hardwater Castile
Lava
Coconut oil
Vegetable fat
HALAL

Ivory
Camay
Safe Guard
Coast
Zest
Beef & Pork Tallow
HARAM
Lever Brothers Co.
Lux
Lifebuoy
Phase II
Dove
Caress
Beef Tallow*
HARAM
Colgate Palmolive Co.
Palmolive
Cashmere
Beef & Pork Tallow*
HARAM
Andrew Jergen Co.
Jergens
Woodbury
Beef Tallow*
HARAM
Armour Dial inc.
Dial
Tone
Irish spring
Beef Tallow*
Pork Tallow*
HARAM
Amway Corporation
All Bar Soaps
Pork Tallow*
HARAM

Nivia Creams
Sheep's Skin/Fat*

* NOTE: The Sheep/Beef that is obtained for the products is not slaughtered Islamically, hence, it is still doubtful.
TOOTHPASTE
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
Lever Brothers Co.
Pepsodents
Close up
Aim
Vegetable Fat
HALAL
Colgate Palmolive Co.
Ultra Brite
Colgate Paste
Colgate Powder
Lard
HARAM
Vicks Chemical Co.
Fix -A- Dent
Vegetable Fat
HALAL
Procter and Gamble
Gleen
Lard
HARAM
NOTE: Contains alcohol; still in doubt about its use.
POT CLEANERS
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use
GM Co.
Rescue 11Soap pads

HALAL
Purex Corporation Brillo
Supreme Steel Wool balls

HALAL

Soap pads
Kosher Soap (Packaged 2 each Pink& Green Bars per carton)
Double Pads
Lard
Beef Tallow
HARAM
Miles laboratory
S.O.S Soap Pads
Tuffy Plastic Mesh
Moth/Balls
Lard
HARAM
MEDICATION 
Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Seldane Caps.
Pepsin
HARAM

Seldane Syrup

HALAL
Note: Buy tablets rather than caplets (caplets have smoother surfaces).


Halal Haram Ingredients
Written by Mohammad Farhad Omar
Monday, 02 June 2008
Ingredient
Status
Ingredient
Status
Acetic Acid
Halal
Hydrogenated Oil
Halal
Alcohol
Haram
Hydrolysed Animal Protein
Mashbooh
Ammonium Sulfate
Halal
Hydrolysed Vegetable Protein
Halal
Ammonium Chloride
Halal
Lard
Haram
Animal Fat
Haram
Leavenings
Halal
Animal Shortening
Haram
Lecithin (commercial)
Halal
Ascorbic Acid
Halal
Malt
Halal
Aspartame
Halal
Malto Dextrin
Halal
Bacon (Pork)
Haram
Molasses
Halal
Benzoate / Benzoic Acid
Halal
Monocalcium Phosphate
Halal
BHA
Halal
Mono Saccharides
Halal
BHT
Halal
Monoglycerides (Animal)
Haram
Calcium Carbonate
Halal
MSG
Halal
Calcium Sulfate
Halal
Nitrates / Nitrites
Halal
Carrageenan
Halal
Non-fat Dried Milk
Halal
Cholesterol
Mashbooh
Oxalic Acid
Halal
Citric Acid
Halal
PABA
Halal
Cocoa Butter
Halal
Vegetable Oil
Halal
Collagen (Pork)
Haram
Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil
Halal
Corn Meal / Corn Starch
Halal
Pectic Materials
Halal
Corn Syrup
Halal
Pectin
Halal
Dextrin / Dextrose
Halal
Pepsin
Haram
Dicalcium Phosphate
Halal
Phospholipid
Mashbooh
Diglyceride
Mashbooh
Phosphoric Acid
Halal
Diglyceride (Plant)
Halal
Pork
Haram
EDTA
Halal
Potassium Benzoate
Halal
Enzyme
Mashbooh
Potassium Bromade
Halal
Ergocalciferol
Halal
Potassium Citrate
Mashbooh
Ergosterol
Halal
Propionate
Halal
Ethoxylated Mono/ Di Glyceride
Mashbooh
Propionic Acid
Halal
Fatty Acid
Mashbooh
Renin / Rennet
Mashbooh
Ferrous Sulfate
Halal
Saccharine
Halal
Fructose
Halal
Salt
Halal
Fungal Protease Enzyme
Halal
Shortening
Mashbooh
Gelatin / Kosher Gelatin
Haram
Soya Protein
Halal
Glucose
Halal
Soyabean Oil
Halal
Glyceride
Mashbooh
Sucrose
Halal
Glycerol / Glycerin
Mashbooh
Tapioca
Halal
Glycerol Stearate
Mashbooh
Tricalcium Phosphate
Halal
Glycogen
Mashbooh
Vinegar
Halal
Gum Acacia
Halal
Whey
Mashbooh
Hormones
Mashbooh
Yeast
Halal
The above is a list of some of the known ingredients only. Source: Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America. Mashbooh means doubtable; therefore should be avoided.
Additives used as colours to avoid:
#E100, #E101,#E110, #E122, #153, #E160(a), #E160(b), #E160(c), #E160(d), #E160(e)

Misc Halal-Haram Info


According to the current Islamic thinking, the following are considered Najis and therefore Haram (unlawful, prohibited):
  • Swine including all by-products
  • Insects considered ugly or filthy such as worms, lice, flies, etc.
  • Animals with fangs such as tigers, lions, cats etc,
  • Birds that have talons with which they catch their prey such as owls, eagles, etc
  • Animals which Islam encourages to kill such as scorpions, centipedes, rats etc,
  • Dogs
  • Animals which Islam forbids to kill such as bees etc
  • Animals which have toxins, poisons or produce ill effects when eaten such as some fish etc
  • Amphibian animals such as crocodiles, turtles, frogs etc
  • Meat (limbs, tails etc.) which have been cut from a live animal
  • Lawful animals not slaughtered according to Islamic rites. (Fish is exempt from slaughtering).
  • Carrion or dead animals
  • Plant and their products (a) Poisonous Plant (b) Intoxicating Plant
  • Liquids and their products (a) Poisonous drinks (b) Intoxicating drinks
  • Other matters and their products (a) Faeces and urine (b) Placental tissue (c) Blood
Halal Slaughter
  • The conditions required for Halal slaughter of animals and birds are:
  • The abattoirs or factory must be under the close and constant supervision of a religious organisation, namely AFIC.
  • The premises, machinery and equipment must be cleansed according to Islamic Shariah (law) before any production takes place.
  • The slaughterman must be a mature, pious Muslim of sound mind who understands fully the fundamentals and conditions relating to Halal slaughter and be approved by the religious authorities.
  • Only acceptable live animals and birds can be slaughtered.
  • Recite Tasmiyah ' Bismillah Allah O Akbar' or atleast name of ' Allah' is to be pronounced before Halal slaughter takes place.
  • The slaughter must be done manually using a sharp steel knife.
  • In case of Chicken, ducks and bird slaughter using a rotary mechanical blade, there must be three Muslim slaughtermen present. One slaughterman touching the birds physically before they go into the rotary cutting blade reciting name of "Allah" and the two Muslim slaughter men are to slaughter the birds that were missed by the blade.
  • Reciting name of 'Allah' is compulsory. The gap between the reciting must not be too long.
  • The Halal slaughter must be swift and complete.
  • Facilities must be available for rinsing the knife after each kill.
  • The slaughterman must sever the respiratory tract, oesophagus the jugular veins and carotid arteries.
  • The animal must be completely dead before any processing or skinning can take place.
Modern Products

     In the modern processing of food, pharmaceutical and cosmetic products we cannot escape from the issue of food ingredients which originates from animals, especially additives and many of these are imported. The ingredients are made from various sources, including Haram sources as well. The products from animal sources which may pose problems are given below:

1. Fresh Meat

   There are many types of animals available and these may or may not be slaughtered according to the Islamic law. Some of these animals include chicken, duck, turkey, quail, cattle, goat, sheep, rabbit, venison.

2. Meat Products

     Another important group of meat products are those using a mixture of pork and non pork raw material. These include luncheon meat, salamis, various types of sausages etc. In these products pork fat is used instead of beef fat. Of course these products are also available in a form which no pork or lard is added as in kosher salami and beef frankfurter's. There are also available chicken and turkey roll. If these products contain pork or pork products and are not made from Halal slaughtered animals Muslims will not purchase them.

3. Offal Products

     Example of these include liver, lungs, heart, intestines, tripe, brains and blood. Besides direct consumption, some of these can also be processed into value-added products. Intestines in their wet or dry form can be used as casings for various types of sausages. All these must be from animals slaughtered in a Halal manner otherwise the whole product will not be acceptable. Blood on the other hand is never acceptable under any circumstance.
  1. Bone and Hide Products
     Gelatine which is used in many food preparations is another important animal product. The main sources are skin and bones. The production from skin basically involves an extraction process of several stages with increasing temperatures, filtration and concentration in a vacuum evaporator. On the other hand production from bones would involve the removal of fat, demineralisation and extraction with dilute alkali. Besides being a source of gelatin, bones when converted into bone meal and purified, is used as a natural source of calcium and phosphorus which can be used in paediatric food. The hides of the cattle can be processed into edible crackers, while chicken skin can be emulsified to be used as ingredients in the production of emulsion type sausages. Again if the bones and hides are not from the slaughtered animals these products can not be accepted. Pork and all pig products are prohibited.

Some Ingredients: Their Sources & Uses

The following are some of the major ingredients. These could be Halal if the origin of them is not animal or alcohol.
Acetic Acid - Source: plant juices, milk, oil petroleum and sometimes muscles. It is the final product of many aerobic fermentations.
Agar Agar - Sources: seaweed. Use: a substitute for gelatin (cream and in confectionery items).
Albumin - Sources: blood (serum albumin), milk (dairy), eggs. Use: coagulant and stiffener in baked goods.
Alginates - Source: seaweed. Forms: calcium alginate, alginic acid, sodium alginate, propylene glycol alginate. Uses: thickening and stabilizing agent in pastry, jelly, ice cream, cheese, candy, yogurt, canned frosting, whipped cream, and beer.
Alpha Amylase - Source: hog pancreas. Use: in flour to break down any starches.
Ambergris - Source: whale intestines. Use: flavoring (also used in perfume).
Anise - Source: fruit of an herb (in the parsley family). Use: flavoring foods and beverages.
Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C) - Source: synthetic or corn. Use: nutrient.
Ascorbyl Palmitate - Source: synthetic and palm oil. Use: preservative.
Benzoic Acid - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
BHA (Butylated hydroxanisole) - Source: synthetic. Use: as an antioxidant in beverages, desserts, cereals, glazed fruits, dry mixes for beverages, and potato flakes and granules.
Calcium Carbonate - Source: limestone. Use: tooth powder and in removing acidity of wine.
Calcium Chloride - Source: synthetic. Use: in canned goods and in cottage and cheddar cheeses as a preservative.
Calcium Disodium (EDTA) - Source: synthetic. Use: flavor retention in canned soda and canned white potatoes, as a preservative in dressings, egg products, oleomargarine, potato salad, lima beans, mushrooms pecan pie filling and spreads.
Calcium Propionate - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Calcium Stearate - Source: a compound of calcium and stearic acid. Use: anti-caking ingredient in some spices (especially garlic salt and onion salt) and extensively in tablets.
Calcium Sorbate - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Calcium Stearol Lactylate - Source: chemical reaction of stearic acid and lactic acid. Use: as a dough conditioner, whipping agent and as a conditioner in dehydrated potatoes.
Caprylic Acid - Source: palm oil, coconut oil. Use: preservative and flavoring.
Carbon Black - Source: synthetic. Use: black coloring in confectionery.
Carmine (Cochineal) - Source: insect. A crimson pigment derived from a Mexican species of scale insert (coccus cacti). Use: coloring in red apple sauce, confections, baked goods, meats and spices.
Carrageenan - Source: seaweed and irish moss. Use: as a substitute for gelatin (an emulsifier, stabilizer and food thickener).
Caramel - Source: sugar or glucose. Use: coloring foods, beverages and confectionery items.
Casein - Source: milk. Use: stabilizer for confectionery, texturizer for ice cream and sherbets, or as a replacement for egg albumin. It is precipitated by acid or by animal or vegetable enzymes.
Catalase - Source: cow liver. Use: coagulant.
Cholic Acid - Source: animal bile. Use: emulsifier in dried egg whites.
Choline Bitartrate - Source: animal tissue. Use: nutrient (B- complex vitamin).
Citric Acid - Source: fruits and vegetables, molasses and grain. Use: antioxidant, sugar solubilizing in ice cream and sherbet, fruit juice drinks, and canned and jarred products, including jelly, cheese, candy, carbonated beverages, instant potatoes, wheat, chips, potato sticks and wine.
Civet, Absolute - Source: cats. Use: flavoring for beverages, ice cream, ices, candy, baked goods and chewing gum.
Cocoa Butter - Source: cocoa bean. Use: chocolate coatings.
Coconut Oil - Source: coconut. Use: in the manufacture of edible fats, chocolate, and candies, in baking in place of lard.
Cream of Tartar (Tartaric Acid) - Source: argol, the stony sediment of wine casks. Once the liquid residue has been removed from the argols by aging one year and drying, the argol are permissible. Use: in a variety of confections and in the preparation of baked goods.
Cysteine.L form - Source: an amino acid, human or horse, or (sometimes from deceased women). Use: nutrient in bakery products.
Dextrin - Source: starch. Use: prevents caking of sugar in candy, encapsulates flavor oils in powdered mixes, thickener.
Dextrose (corn syrup) - Source: starch. Use: sweetener, coloring agent in beverages, ice cream, candy and baked goods.
Dough Conditioners - Sources: calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate, or animal fat. Use: to improve the texture of bread. Often it will contain mono and diglycerides.
Emulsifiers - Source: fats (animals or vegetable, synthetic). Use: binding oils and water, thickening, a preservative in baked goods, reducing ice crystals and air bubbles in ice cream.
Erythrobic Acid - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Ethyl Vanillin - Source: synthetic, bark of spruce tree, or wine alcohol. Use: as a flavor instead of vanilla or to fortify it.
Fats - Source: animal or vegetable. Substances that are solid at room temperature are fats, those that are liquids at room temperature are oils.
Fatty Acids - Source: animal or vegetable fats. Use: emulsifiers, binders and lubricants.
Glucose - Source: fruits and other plants such as potatoes and corn. Use: sweetener and coloring agent.
Glycine - Source: gelatin, animal or vegetable oil. Use: in cereals. Also as flavor enhancer.
Glycerol Monostearate - Glycerol monostearate may be of animal origin.
Glycerine - Source: beef fat, petroleum, or vegetable. Use: as a solvent or a humectant (maintains the desired level of moisture).
Gum Arabic, Gum Acacia - Source: trees. Use: thickening agent, emulsifier, stabilizer.
Gum Base - Source: trees (chicle, natural rubber, etc.), synthetic butyl rubber, paraffin, polyethylene, vinyl, resin, glycerol monostearate. Use: in the manufacture of chewing gum.
Gum Guaiac - Source: trees. Use: antioxidant.
Guar Gum - Source: plants. Use: extender for pectin, stabilizer and thickener for spreads, syrup, sauces, salad dressing and licorice.
Gum Tragacanth - Source: shrubs. Use: thickening agent. Herb derived from green leaves or herbaceous part of the plant.
Invert Sugar (Inversol nulomoline colorose) - Source: cane sugar. Use: sweetener.
Invertase (Invertin) - Source: molasses, corn starch, glucose. Use: preservative, flavoring. (Lactic acid can also be produced from whey, but its use is restricted to ice cream and cream cheese).
Lactose (Milk sugar) - Source: whey. Use: sweetener, humectant and nutrient.
Lauric Fats - Source: coconut, palm oil. Use: with or instead of cocoa butter.
Lecithin - Source: soybeans, corn oil. Use: emulsifier and preservative, especially in chocolate.
Lipids - Source: animal or vegetable fat. Use: shortening, flavoring, thickener.
Lysine, L and DL Forms - Source: casien, fibrin, blood. Usually synthesized.
Magnesium Stearate - Source: stearic acid. From tallow, vegetable oils or synthetic. Use: anti-caking agent.
Malt Syrup - Source: malt and barley. Use: emulsifier and starch dissolving.
Mannitol - Source: fungi. Use: sweetener.
Methylparaben - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Mono and Diglycerides - Source: animal and vegetable. Use: stabilizer, emulsifier, softener, preservative. Most are animal products. Mono-and-diglycerides do not necessarily have to be listed in the ingredients.
Monosodium Glutamate - Source: sugar, plants, beets and corn. Use: flavor enhancer.
Natural Fruit Flavors - Concentrated under vacuum or freeze dried. Concentrated fruit pulp that is used in confectionery usually requires fortification with some synthetic flavor.
Oleic Acid - Source: fats and oils (animals or vegetable). Use: defoaming, flavoring.
Oil of Caraway - Source: seeds of carum carui. Grown in Holland and Central and Southern Europe. Flavoring for chocolate and coatings.
Oil of Cardamon (grains of paradise) - Source: alleppy cardamon, trees from India. Use: enhance the flavor of ground coffee, butter, chocolate, liquor, spice and vanilla flavoring.
Oil of Cassia (Cassia Bark) - Source: leaves and twigs of the chinese cinnamon. Use: for cocoa flavor in biscuits, cakes, ice cream and beverages.
Oil of Celery - Source: celery plant. It comes primarily from France. Use: usually as flavoring for cocoa, chocolate and other confections.
Oxysterins - Source: glycerides, stearic acid. Use: prevents oil from clouding.
Ox Bile - Source: ox bile. Use: preservative and emulsifier in dried egg whites.
Pectin - Source: roots, stems and fruits of plants. Use: to thicken jellies.
Pepper Cream - Source: herb. Use: spice. Requires di-glycerides or other emulsifiers to mix.
Pepsin - Source: enzymes, usually extracted from hog stomachs, but can be synthetic. Use: coagulant in cheese.
Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids - Source: fats and oils, animal or vegetable.
Polysorbate 60, 65, 80 - Source: stearic acid (also called tween). Use: emulsifiers, especially in "non-diary" products.
Potassium Bi Sulfite - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Potassium Caseinate - Source: milk. Use: stabilizer and texturizer.
Potassium Metabisulfite - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Potassium Sorbate - Source: berries or synthetic. Use: preservative.
Propionic Acid - Source: synthetic or may be made from cheese. Use: mold inhibitor, preservative.
Propyl Gallate - Source: synthetic or may be from nuts produced by insects. Use: preservative.
Propylene Glycol (Aliginate) - Source: synthetic. Use: emulsifier, stabilizer, solvent.
Propylparaben - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Release Agents - Source: oils, mineral oil, mono-glycerides or synthetic. Use: keeps heated foods from sticking to equipment, utensils and packaging. These need not to be listed in the ingredients.
Resinous Glaze - Source: insect secretion. Use: coating candies and pills.
Rennet - Source: animal enzymes. Derived from the lining membrane of the stomach of suckling calves. Use: coagulant and curdling agent especially in cheese and other dairy products. A vegetable enzyme similar to rennet is available as a substitute.
Shellac - Source: insect secretion. Use: in glaze for confectionery products and in chocolate panning.
Shortenings - Source: oil. Use: to make baked goods light and flaky. Factories make both animal and vegetable shortenings.
Sodium Alginate - Source: seaweed or kelp. Use: as a stabilizer.
Sodium Ascorbate - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Sodium Benzoate - Source: synthetic origin. Use: preservative.
Sodium Caseinate - Source: milk and cheese. Use: texturizer in " non-diary" creamers and instant mashed potatoes.
Sodium Citrate - Source: synthetic. Use: emulsifier and buffer in processed produce.
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate - Source: synthetic. Use: detergent, whipping agent, an emulsifier (in egg products) and surfactant (in beverages).
Sodium Propionate - Source: synthetic origin or rarely it is made from cheese. Use: mold preservative.
Sodium Sorbate - Source: synthetic or from corn. Use: preservative.
Sodium Sulfite - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Softeners - Source: animal or vegetable. Use: in chewing gum.
Sorbic Acid - Source: berries, corn or synthetic. Use: mold inhibitor.
Sorbitan Monostearate - Source: stearic acid. Use: emulsifier, defoamer and flavor disperser.
Spearmint Oil - Source: the herb mentha viriais. Use: primarily as flavoring in chewing gum.
Sperm Oil - Source: whale. Use: release agent and lubricant in baking pans.
Spices - Source: dried vegetable product derived from any part of the plant, whether root, stem, bark, fruit, bud or seed.
Stannous Chloride - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Stearic Acid - Source: animal or vegetable oil. Use: in butter and vanilla flavoring. Softener in chewing gum.
Stearyl Lactylic Acid - Source: fats and oils. Use: emulsifier.
Sulfur Dioxide - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative.
Thiodipropionic Acid - Source: synthetic. Use: preservative, or from cheese.
Tocopherols - Source: synthetic, or soybeans. Use: preservative, nutrient (Vitamin E).
Turmeric - Source: herb. Use: spice as a powder: (often used in its oleo resin form for use in pickling brine and mustard with glycerides added).
Vanilla - Source: bean. Use: flavoring, it may be processed with glycerine.
Vanillin - Source: bark of spruce tree. Use: flavoring.
Vegetable Gums - Use: substitute for gelatin in desserts and candies.
Whey - Source: milk. Use: binder and flavoring agent.

Moslem Meal or Halal Meal


While airlines are reducing meal and snack service, they still offer a number of special meals for passengers with various dietary needs. Among the offerings are Moslem or Muslim meals, bland meals, diabetic meals, gluten free meals, low sodium meals, seafood meals, vegetarian meals, Hindu meals and Kosher meals. Not all airlines offer all these meal choices. For example, America West does not offer a Muslim meal. What is a Moslem meal?
Most US airlines specify a Muslim meal as one that does not contain products derived from pork, such as bacon and sausage; alcohol; eel or animal fats. Allowed items are fresh fruits; fresh vegetables; yogurt; nuts; rice; corn; pasta; eggs; herb and spices; cheese and dairy products and beans. If available, meat and poultry slaughtered according to specific Halal methods. For some reason, Continental Airlines goes on to say that special rules apply during the month of Ramadan when Muslims fast from dawn to sunset.
(We should note that most yogurts contain gelatin and since most of the commercially available gelatin is not Halal, yogurt containing gelatin is not likely to be suitable for a Halal consumer. There may also be some question about the enzymes used in any cheese products.)
For the most part, the definition seems acceptable but how does it match the practice? I recently traveled on flights where meals were served and ordered Muslim meals. With the exception of one flight on which I was served chicken and rice, the other flights offered me a very spicy mixed bean, corn and rice meal.
So what should a Moslem or Muslim meal be? First of all, the meals should be referred to as Halal meals, not Muslim meals. The dietary standard is Halal, not Muslim. Non-Muslims as well as Muslims consume halal meals. And the meals should not be confined to one ethnic type. A Halal meal should be made with Halal certified ingredients. It should contain Halal meat, poultry or fish; fresh vegetables; rice or other grain; should not be over-spiced but just seasoned to taste; should include a Halal dessert; Halal bread; and a Halal salad with dressing on the side, etc. It should be sealed in a way to prevent contamination during handling and serving. In other words, it can look like the regular meal service on the flight, except it should be made with Halal certified ingredients and it should contain a statement to that effect. And it should be available on all flights where a meal is served.
The current list of Muslim meals may be a great advance from a decade ago but it still falls short of the proper selection for Halal meals. Muslims should continue to request Halal meals and insist on a proper quality and variety of meals. And by all means, provide feedback so the airlines have information to improve their offerings.

Food Additives


Food additives are commonly used in foods to perform a number of functions. They are used to preserve food and retard spoilage, to improve nutritional value and to make food more appealing. Food additives make food more convenient, especially for the on-the-go consumer! Additives are used in foods for five main reasons:
Preserving and Retarding Spoilage
Antioxidants are added to food products to retard spoilage. Mold, air, bacteria and other substances can cause food to spoil. Bacteria can also cause food borne illnesses. Antioxidants prevent fats and oils in food products from becoming rancid and prevent fresh fruits from turning brown when exposed to air.
Improving Nutritional Value
Vitamins and minerals are added to food to improve nutritional value. They are added to a variety of products, including milk, flour and cereals to help reduce malnutrition among consumers. Products containing added nutrients must be appropriately labeled.
Increasing Appeal
Spices and flavors are added to food to enhance taste, leavening agents are added to make baked goods rise, colors are added to enhance appearance, emulsifiers are added to give products a consistent texture, stabilizers and thickeners are added to produce a smooth and uniform texture, anti-caking agents are added to help substances, such as salt, flow freely rather than stay in one clump and other additives are added to modify acidity and alkalinity of foods.
Additives may be natural or artificial. Natural additives are manufactured from natural sources. Examples of natural additives are lecithin derived from soybeans or corn and food coloring derived from beets. Artificial additives are often used when a natural additive cannot be found or when they are more economical to use.
The United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) must approve food additives before they can be used in the United States. The safety of any proposed additive must be investigated before they it is approved.
Food Colors
Food colors are dyes that impart color to food products. In the US, color additives are classified as certifiable or exempt from certification. Certifiable colors are man-made. They are tested by both the manufacturer and the FDA before they are approved or certified for use. There are nine certified colors approved for use in the US, including FD&C Yellow No.6.
Color additives that are exempt from certification are derived from natural sources such as vegetables, minerals or animals, and man-made counterparts of natural derivatives. They include caramel color, which is used in sauces, soft drinks, baked goods and other foods. These too are tested before approval for use is granted.
Certifiable color additives are used widely because their coloring ability is greater than most colors derived from natural products. This enables food producers to use smaller quantities, which is more economic. In addition, certifiable color additives are more stable, provide better color uniformity and blend together easily to provide a wide range of hues. Certifiable color additives generally do not impart undesirable flavors to foods, while color derived from foods such as beets and cranberries can produce such unintended effects.
Certifiable color additives are available for use in water-soluble form, oil-soluble form, as powders, granules, liquids or other special purpose forms. They are used in a wide variety of products including beverages, dry mixes, baked goods, confections, dairy products, coated tablets, hard candies and chewing gums.
The flexibility of using additives makes it easier to produce food products with long shelf life, appealing taste and color and with high nutritious value. It also poses a challenge for Muslims since the processes used to produce the additives and the sources of the additives may introduce haram ingredients into an otherwise Halal product. For those with allergies, the use of additives may pose additional concerns, since they are present in small quantities and may not be listed very descriptively.
(Extracted from an FDA/IFIS January 1992 brochure on Food Additives.)

Seafood - What's Halal, What's Not


The use of the term 'seafood' in this article refers to all non-plant life coming from permanent bodies of water, including rivers, lakes, seas and oceans. There are a number of differing opinions when it comes to the Halal or haram status of seafood. The Quran states:
Lawful to you is the pursuit of water-game and its use for food, for the benefit of yourselves and those who travel; but forbidden is the pursuit of land-game, as long as you are in the state of Ihram (for Hajj or Umrah). And fear ALLAH, to Whom you shall be gathered back. Al-Ma-ida: 96
And it is HE Who has subjected the sea (to you), that you may eat thereof fresh tender meat, and that you may extract out of it ornaments to wear. And you see the ships ploughing through it, that you may seek (thus) of the HIS bounty (by transporting the goods from place to place) and that you may be grateful. An-Nahl: 14
And the two seas (kinds of water) are not alike: this is fresh, sweet and pleasant to drink, and that is salt and bitter. And from them both you eat fresh tender meat, and extract ornaments that you wear. And you see the ships cleaving (the sea water as they sail through it), that you may seek of HIS bounty, and that you may give thanks. Fatir: 12
This ayat state that it is lawful to fish for food. In fact ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta'ala, has subjected the seas to human beings, so they may partake of their Bounty and benefit by what has been provided. In addition, there are a number of Ahadith that also address the subject of seafood.
In a long Hadith, a group of Sahaba ran out of food on a journey and came upon a huge sea creature, often referred to as a fish or a huge fish and sometimes referred to as a whale, washed up on the shore. The Sahaba referred to it as ‘Anbar. They debated whether it was permissible to eat from it because it was already dead, but finally decided their need for food exempted them should there be any sin in it. After returning home and informing the Prophet, salla ALLAHu alaihi wa sallam, they were told it was a blessing provided to them by ALLAH. It was Halal. In another Hadith we learn that frogs should not be killed and fish can be eaten. A different narration says that frogs are haram.
The Islamic scholars have studied the question of what seafood can be eaten and they have reached a number of different opinions. First, there are some who believe only live catches are Halal. If the object is found dead, it comes under the ayah prohibiting the consumption of dead land animals and it too is haram. Others see that seafood is exempted from this restriction and use the Hadith about the ‘Anbar to justify their opinion.
As to the species of sea creature that is permitted, all have agreed that fish, with scales, are Halal. Some have opined that anything, which can only live in water, is Halal while creatures that can live in and out of the water are haram. The latter would include crabs, turtles, frogs, etc. Another opinion is that only fish with scales are Halal and other creatures are not. This group believes that lobster, shrimp, octopus, eels, etc. are not permitted. Another group believes that creatures resembling Halal land animals are Halal while those resembling haram land animals are haram.
Finally, on the issue of being caught live or found dead, one opinion is that all seafood is Halal while another opines that if the Halal species is found dead in the water or on land, it is haram. A Hadith supports each opinion.
In summary, all scholars are in agreement that fish with scales are Halal. Most also agree that all fish are Halal. While some opinions say everything that can only live in the water is Halal, others conclude that only those sea creatures resembling Halal land creatures are Halal. Most agree that frogs are not permitted. All agree that live fish are Halal no matter how long after they are caught. Some conclude any fish is Halal, whether it is caught live or found dead. Others believe fish found dead are haram. Of course, all this applies to the seafood itself. As far as cooked or processed seafood, any added ingredients, flavors or cooking methods that introduce haram ingredients would make the seafood haram.